Lookin’ for an editor

Welp, the editor I had before jumped ship so I’m looking for a new one. I should probably be more clear on exactly what I’m looking for.

  1. You must be a native speaker of American English (also known as the best English).
  2. You must regard yourself as a good writer. What this probably means is that you ate AP English and AP Lit for breakfast, got an 800 on both the Critical Reading and Grammar sections of the SAT, and are majoring in English even though you know full well it’s the most useless degree ever, because you love literature so fucking much. You might even keep a shitty blog (much like mine) even though you have at most two readers (much like mine) because you need an outlet for writing. Writing is like your crack cocaine, your anti drug.
  3. On that point, this might be redundant but you must know what good English sounds like. You’ve probably read everything from Harry Potter to The Sound and the Fury.
  4. On that point, this might be redundant but you must understand why Baka-Tsuki’s translation sucks. If you read it over and think it’s a perfectly good contender for the Pulitzer you’re doing something wrong.
  5. If you think my writing sucks, that’s great! But you must know exactly why it sucks and how to change it to make it into a Hemingway masterpiece.
  6. You must have free time to do this. (This is redundant if you’re an English major. Just kidding.)

tl;dr: I’m looking for an editor who writes slightly better than Dan Brown.

If you think you’re the guy (and/or gal), hit me up.

Oh yeah. In other news, the translation is coming along. Might make a summary of the first route of Rewrite before I finish Hitagi Crab 003 though.

11 Comments to “Lookin’ for an editor”

  1. Can’t decide on a wordpress theme, huh?

    Good luck on the editor hunt.

  2. ha ha sounds like you are having fun there.

    I’ve said this before, but I’m willing to help if you think I can be of any use. To be honest, I don’t have the kind of self-confidence that it takes to point out flaws and tell you what to do. I mean, I can try, but it’s painful for me as a person. I can only give you my opinion as a reader with some amount of confidence. Anyways, good luck finding an editor (I’ve also said that before, haven’t I…).

    On a totally unrelated note, I have to ask– what drove you to read your way through Rewrite all of a sudden? I’ve always been limited to the few Visual Novels that have been translated over the years, so I’m curious about how someone that doesn’t have that handicap picks his reading material.

    [1. It’s made by key, with high production values. 2. It’s partly written by Romeo Tanaka, a famous VN writer of The A Drug That Makes You Dream, Cross Channel, etc. fame. 3. Another writer is Ryuukishi 7 of the Umineko and Higurashi franchise fame. Basically, it was highly anticipated and considered a “must-read.” – rsy]

  3. I guess I’ll just wait for the summary before asking for your afterthoughts. I’ve only read the available Umineko novels, and a friend of mine made me watch AIR many, many years ago. The same person forced me to watch Higurashi some time later. I have yet to watch CLANNAD for some… god forsaken reason, but I guess it’s just a matter of time before I jump on the bandwagon.

    I… don’t think I want to ask for recommendations just yet, because I know that involves me talking about my tastes and whatnot, and I tend to ramble a lot.

    …though that shouldn’t be news to anyone by now. I am interested in your tastes, though. I’ve said this before (I’ve been using this line too often lately…), but I honestly don’t know anything about you. So far I’ve been coming here only because I’m interested in your project, but I want to change that. You should try and abuse twitter a bit more. I’m sure that’ll help.

  4. I wish visual novels were translated as fast as anime ;_;

    The fastest way for me to read rewrite is likely to just learn japanese myself.

  5. Fuck you ! There is no beauty in the (to the? Whatever, just fuck it) English Language! The only thing its good for is swearing.And American English is an abnomination as are it speakers.You lazy as(s) fuck chewing-gum-chewers.
    Oh and your “ladylike-English” is like a normal English-(wo)man speaks.(If (s)he is not spewing and spitting her soul out like a hooligan with tourette-syndrom and a stroke.)
    Oh and by the way:Thank you for your Work!

  6. @StrokeVictim

    So wait, allow me to get this straight. You are thanking him for translating a novel into the language you despise? I’m sorry, I really can’t wrap my mind around this.

    Goddamn weaboo.

  7. Goddamn i hope somebody will translate Bakemonogatari full finally. I hope u don’t give in the middle of translation some volume or something – there’s ton of people who’s done that… I (and i’m sure not only me) don’t care that much about language and compatibility translation with original text , i just hope that somebody will finally translate it full so that i can finally read it and know what the hell happened after anime with Hitagi & Araragi. GOOD LUCK! I WILL IN CHECK FOR NEW RELEASES!

    [Well, if you don’t care at all about the translation, Koyomi Vamp is already fully translated over at Baka-Tsuki. – rsy]

  8. Hm, I like to think that I’m skilled enough to help you out. I really just want to help because BT’s releases of this (haven’t really checked out their other ones) are awful. Please message me back; I’d love to help you out!

  9. Would love to do it if you translate the monogatari series.

  10. Are you still in need of an editor? I would very much like to aid you in any way possible.

Leave a Reply

